How To Make Unique Lampshade: DIY Tutorial

bohemian crochet lampshade tutorialWould you believe that this lampshade is made of UPCYCLED, LEFT OVER and REPURPOSED MATERIALSbead garlands that had been used for Christmas tree decorations, left over golden thread from gift wrapping in previous years and yarn scraps in different colors.

There was no plan of how to make this lampshade. I only wanted to play with colors, shiny materials and be free when allowing my imagination to fly. It took me some time to realize that what limited me during my play was the thought at the back of my head: “But what will people think about this craziness I am creating here? They will think I have lost any sense of taste or reality…” Those thoughts drained my joy and tied my hands. Soon I figured out it was a wrong attitude and very limiting frame towards my creation process and mood. I decided to stretch my comfort zone and stop caring about the possible opinions of others. So and what if I would be seen as a weirdo who creates shiny rubbish?

This lampshade is my story of playing freely and being detached from the outcome and evaluations. Making this lampshade was The Journey of Pure Egoistic PLEASURE and FUN.

I enjoyed tearing off the fabric from the thrift store lampshade. I had lots of fun when playing with gold bead garlands that I was wrapping around the lamp´s carcass. And it certainly was such a pleasure and meditation to crochet all those different motives of flower shapes that would fill the panes of lampshade.

crochet unique lampshade tutorial diy

STEPS OF HOW I MADE THIS LAMPSHADE:

1. I tore off fabric and ribbons from lampshade, cleaned it from glue residue (picture 1).

2. I wrapped gold beaded garlands around the carcass. (I chose gold color because the foot was with some golden parts.) My garlands from thrift store were of different length and shade. For crazy lampshade such variety of golden color was fine. At first I needed to be sure I had enough of garlands, so after wrapping each piece, I fixed it temporarily with elastic ribbon (picture 2)

3. When I was satisfied with the result, I fixed every ending of garlands with golden thread and needle, so that garlands would hold in the right place (picture 3). In fact, such golden carcass lampshade looked very good (picture 4). And I left it in this condition for few months, while I was figuring out: IF I would like to add anything else, and if so – then what would it be.

4. After some time I felt that I wanted to have one very colorfulpiece of decor in our living room. Also: I was very much into crocheting different colorful elements. So, I indulged into crocheting 24 pieces, each one different, planning to use 3 elements per pane. As the lamp´s foot was green and golden (and I just loved the gold beads on the lampshade), I decided to use green, blue, violet and purple colors, and of course – even more gold.  For the first three or four crochet elements I was following crochet patterns, but then I added more fun to creation process by letting myself create freely whatever form was coming.

bohemian lampshade diy before after

5. Previously, for my family and friends I had made crocheted and embellished 3D snowflakes that I had stiffened. I knew I would apply the same technique for this lampshade to make stiff all my crocheted work stiff, so it would hold the shape. To do it, I took some old canvas and carton boxes from shoes, and wrapped them in plastic. Then I created mix of white glue with water 1:1 and applied it to each element (picture 5). I fixed each element with pins, so it would have the shape I wished to achieve (picture 6). I let them to dry overnight.

lampshade tutorial diy upcycle crochet6. When crocheted flowers were dry, I created 8 columns each with 3 elements. The biggest element was at the bottom and the smallest was on the top, so they would fit the panes that were bigger at the bottom. I paid attention to the color combination of elements within the pane and considered how they fit with the colors of neighboring pane. When I was satisfied with the result, I fixed each element inside the pane by stitching it with gold thread (picture 7).

7. Some pains had gaps between elements or edges of carcass, so I filled them up by adding some additional strings of thread (picture 8).

8. My lamp originally had a cable that was golden color which was perfect. But it´s switch was ugly white, so I painted it golden with acrylic paint.

9. And finally, I changed the white light bulb to the biggest golden light bulb I could find in the store.

10. The lamp was ready, I was happy and satisfied with having enjoyed the whole creative process and going with its flow. The final step turned out to be the chance to OBSERVE MY ATTITUDE towards feedback about the lamp that I keep getting from our visitors when they notice the lamp in the corner of the room. It´s an interesting and ongoing process :-)

There are more lampshade tutorials to get more inspiration: HOW TO MAKE LACE LAMPSHADE and BOHEMIAN LAMPSHADE MAKING TUTORIAL – check out this darling that looks like a big shiny HOT AIR BALLOON!

And I have put together some DIY TIPS FOR STIFFENING CROCHET ORNAMENTS which might be very helpful when creating more decorations for your home and gifts. Some of the pictures can inspire you for new creations.

But if you are into making STATEMENT DECORATION and like to use RECYCLED MATERIALS pieces for your home – take a look at this GIANT CROCHET GARLAND TUTORIAL.

Let me know if you have any questions about this tutorial. If you have your story about letting your creativity flow – please, share it!

This entry was posted in Crochet, DIY Home, Recycle & Repurpose and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to How To Make Unique Lampshade: DIY Tutorial

  1. This lampshade is one of the most beautiful I’ve seen. It looks like a work of love and it gleams!

    • Hello Ruth! Thank you for your kind words! Your comment made the great start of my day! It is so nice to see another crafter who is so much enjoying making own lampshades :-)
      I saw your blog and was impressed by the choice of fabrics that you use for your lampshades – wonderful collection!

  2. skf2011 says:

    This so beautiful. Such detail. Just lovely!

  3. lindacee says:

    Oh my goodness!!! That’s fantastic! (I know what my February craft is, if I can wait that long :))

  4. Ruth says:

    Wow! beautiful indeed. I was a jeweler for many years so the minute details are familiar with me. I am trying to move away from that to faster flowing work, but I can’t help be drawn to this kind of detailed work.

  5. Jen says:

    This is wonderful! I would love to do something like this for my bedroom lamp, but I don’t think I’m ready yet! I still need more practice. LOL!

  6. GJ Amber says:

    What an incredible work of art. I love things that are beautiful art and useful also.

  7. It’s absolutely stunning! Even that golden carcass inspires.

  8. Pingback: Crochet A Lampshade · Crochet | CraftGossip.com

  9. Ninette says:

    What a lovely lampshade! Really impressive, and absolutely beautiful! I love it!

  10. Pingback: Crochet A Lampshade | Crochet | muntustitches.com

  11. Wow! What an awesome idea and a great finished lamp shade! :)

  12. Jaan says:

    It almost reminds me a Tiffany Lamp! Love it, and hope I could do something like that once we move to a new city/home this summer. It really is amazing. Thanks.

  13. Jaan, Lady Kell and Ninette – thank you for taking your time to write this feedback – it means a lot to me. You know – this lamp was the baby of love, so your opinion is very important for me!

  14. Julie says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!!

  15. barb in tennessee says:

    I don’t know if I’d have the nerve to take the lampshade apart in the first place !!
    It is beautiful !! Love the crochet motifs., and the gold beads really make a beautiful
    lamp. It almost looks like a tiffany lamp…..
    Beautiful !!

  16. Barb, I know what you mean by not being sure to take the lampshade apart. I was staring at the old lampshade for about 3 months… That old lampshade was done so great and detailed. Then I thought – if I destroy it with no good result, then let at least make it as a sacrifice for letting creativity flow with a hope that it would work some other time.

  17. Kat says:

    Your creative lampshade is a true marvel to look at with all it’s different patterns and shades to look at! I love it! If it feels good to you, that’s all that matters. Does it please your eye (like it does mine)? Great! I would proudly display it where everyone can see it.

  18. Coltin says:

    I’ve been lkoiong for a post like this for an age

  19. Kailyn says:

    This is THE cutest lampshad I’ve ever seen. I’m going to learn how to crochet so I can make this for my dorm next year.

    • Thank you, Kailyn! If you manage to learn crochet – good for you (there are so many other really wonderful things to crochet), but otherwise you can use different lace motives that you can stiffen up with the same method as crocheted ones.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts here!

